EDITOR'S PAGE



Second
International
Oil Shale
Conference
(BAU-SIOSC)
October 9–11,
2018



Oil shale is the twin of petroleum and it is abundantly available, but not in ripened state. The scientific community keeps investigating and searching for the most optimum methods to benefit from huge world oil shale reserves. In our endeavor, and searching to delve into oil shale knowledge, conferences, symposiums and workshops are organized in different parts of the world. Such meetings would augment scientific research and bring researchers closer to share their thoughts and investigations.

Organizing the Second International Oil Shale Conference in Jordan in 2018 by Al-Balqa Applied University (BAU) would initiate a series of conferences to be held in future. There are huge deposits of oil shale underneath Jordan's territory. The BAU believes that oil shale research communities must meet to discuss oil shale businesses and progress made on oil shale research and technology advancements. The BAU intends to organize an oil shale conference every three years. The expected upcoming conference would be held in 2021 in Amman, Jordan.

Since the exploitation of oil shale has nexus to petroleum, research, application and technology developments are directly proportional to crude oil prices. Coordination among oil shale research centers and/or universities should lead to organizing annual or biannual scientific communities' meetings to discuss oil shale utilization development.

The Organizing Committee of the Al-Balqa Applied University-Second International Oil Shale Conference (BAU-SIOSC) extends its appreciation and gratitude to sponsors, including Q-Energy infrastructure (Al-Qamer Company), Questerre Energy, PROCOM CONSULTANTS, Attarat Mining Company (AMCO), Jordan Petroleum Refinery, and Jordan-Kuwait Bank. Appreciation is also extended to the international and local organization committees' members. Special thanks belong to Mr. Jim Schmidt of

98 Editor's Page

PROCOM for his constant advice throughout preparations for the conference events

Conference Scientific Committee members who refereed the research papers submitted for the special issue are acknowledged. The distinguished members are:

- 1. Professor Andres Siirde, Department of Energy Technology, Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech), Tallinn, Estonia.
- 2. Professor Alar Konist, Department of Energy Technology, Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech), Tallinn, Estonia.
- 3. Professor Tonu Pihu, Department of Energy Technology, Tallinn University of Technology (TalTech), Tallinn, Estonia.
- 4. Professor Mohammad Al-Harahsheh, Department of Chemical Engineering, Jordan University of Science and Technology (JUST), Irbid, Jordan.
- 5. Professor Tayel El-Hasan, Faculty of Science, Mutah University, Karak, Jordan
- 6. Professor Nafth Abdelhadi, Department of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering Technology, Al-Balqa Applied University, Amman, Jordan.
- 7. Professor Adnan Al-Harahsheh, Department of Chemical Engineering, Engineering College, Mutah University, Karak, Jordan.
- 8. Dr. Xiangxin Han, School of Mechanical Engineering, Institute of Thermal Energy Engineering, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), Beijing, China.
- 9. Dr. Pankaj Tiwari, Department of Chemical Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati, Assam, India.
- 10. Dr. Ahmad Ashteyat, Department of Civil Engineering, School of Engineering, University of Jordan, Amman, Jordan.
- 11. Dr. Ziad Abuelrub, Pharmaceutical Chemical Engineering, School of Applied Medical Sciences, German Jordan University, Madaba, Jordan.
- 12. Dr. Mohammad Amer, Department of Chemistry, School of Science, University of Jordan, Amman, Jordan.

Finally, acknowledgment and gratitude belong to Her Excellency, Minister of Energy and Mineral Resources, Eng. Hala Adel Al-Zawati, for inaugurating the conference. Appreciation is extended to Professor Abdallah S. Al-Zoubi, President of the university efforts for his continuous support. At last, I am grateful to Professor Abdel Naser Alzyoud, Chairman of Conferences and Workshops Committee in the university.

Omar AL-AYED
Professor
Conference Chairman & Technical Editor